Children are not like the pottery barn catalog!

Remember when you were pregnant and you thought that having a child would be like dressing a doll, gently rocking a sleeping babe, pushing a stroller gentely down the mall or holding said child in an ultra soft baby blanket…then reality set in…and well, while you might have had flashes of the moments mentioned above they are in stark contrast to daily life. At least that is what it is like for me.

I have noticed that my darling Marlie has a bit more energy than most of the children she is surrounded by and has the same amount of curiousness that our little monkey friend on PBS has. Just this week I discovered that she was not in her bed a naptime, but in her closet with the door closed watching a DVD that she opened, started and played. Several things have gone down the sink drain (like my tanzanite necklace), remote controls have been found in the trash can, vital power cords have been found in her tricycle compartment and she has defaced almost everything in the house.

But back to my point; this morning is Good Friday and on this day for the last four years our darling sister-in law Jessica has made “the girls” a brunch to celebrate the day that Josh proposed. I look forward to this every year because it is always a delicious homemade “Jessica” meal that is as scrumptious as it is elegant.

So I got up, made breakfast for Marlie, gave her a bath, fixed her hair (very cute, I might add) put her in a sweet little denim dress (also very cute-and CLEAN) then left her to watch Sesame Street while I got dressed. I was in the middle of applying mascara when little Marlie came into my bathroom looking like this…

lipsjpg

hands

No, that isn’t chocolate…it is permanent Sharpie marker! So, instead of walking out the door for some fine feasting, I had to start all over again with a bath of nail polish remover and lots of soap. I have been told numerous times that one day I will look back on these little moments and laugh; while I am far from laughing this morning–perhaps you can.

Happy Easter Everyone!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Children are not like the pottery barn catalog!

  1. Amanda

    I’ll laugh for you. Her energy reminds me of my niece Lauren. One time my sister had found in her room painting on the wall with her poop.

    Peace

  2. Karen

    I’m laughing for you too…cause this time it’s not me. 🙂

    I found Gunnar a few weeks ago in his crib…diaper off…playing in his poop…all over his mouth….uhhh please tell me you didn’t eat that! nasty! Dude you are so not the only one. I am always thinking that my kids have more energy than others…why are my kids the ones who are running around like wild animals with food (sometimes poop) smeared all over themselves!!!???

    Enjoy the brunch! Props to Jessica! What an awesome idea!!!

  3. Oh my goodness! That sounds like (and looks like) something Madison would do. In fact, I went to the store tonight and when I got back, Madison was out in the yard with Dylan with red ink all over her face. I am sure I will find traces of the ink throughout the house over the next few days. Dylan apparently took her outside where damage could not be done. 🙂

  4. HAHAHA! I’m totally with you on the “kids are not like the pottery barn ads” thing. THEY ARE THE EXACT OPPOSITE. Marlie still looks adorable…even with all that sharpie 🙂

Leave a comment